You are here

Academic Council Committees

Academic Council Executive Committee (2018-19)

Elected by the Academic Council from its membership, the Executive Committee of the Academic Council (ECAC) meets weekly during the academic year and as necessary during the summer months. ECAC meets regularly with the senior officers of the university and a few times per year with the Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees. ECAC serves as the Committee on Committees for the Academic Council and the university faculty.

Don Taylor, Chair, Sanford School of Public Policy
Claudia Gunsch, Faculty Secretary, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Erika Weinthal, Vice Chair, Nicholas School of the Environment
Larry Zelenak, Law School
Ellen Davis, Divinity School
Lisa Keister, Sociology
Mark Anthony Neal, African and African American Studies
Victoria Szabo, Art, Art History and Visual Studies

Faculty Hearing Committee (2018-19)
Functions defined in Appendix N of the Faculty Handbook. Elected annually by the Academic Council upon nomination by the Executive Committee of the Academic Council — term: three years.

Sam Buell, Chair (Law School) 2020 (Will not serve Spring 2019)
Richard Schmalbeck, Chair (Law School) 2019 (Will serve as Chair Spring 2019)
Jennifer Groh (Psychology and Neuroscience) 2021 
Janice Humphreys (School of Nursing) 2021 
Anand Lagoo (School of Medicine) 2021 
Betty Tong (School of Medicine) 2021 
Debara Tucci (School of Medicine) 2021 
Ernest Young (Law School) 2021 
Scott Dyreng (Fuqua School of Business) 2020 
Laura Lieber (Religious Studies, Divinity School & Classical Studies) 2020 
Chris Woods (School of Medicine) 2020 
Justin Wright (Biology) 2020 
Craig Henriquez (Biomedical Engineering) 2020
Julie Edell (Fuqua School of Business) 2019
Thavolia Glymph (History) 2019
Trina Jones (Law School) 2019
Doug Marchuk (Molecular Genetics and Microbiology) 2019

Faculty Compensation Committee (2018-19)
Monitors faculty compensation; studies issues relating to faculty salaries and benefits and advises the Administration in this area. Term: three years.

Craig Henriquez, Chair (Biomedical Engineering) 2021
Sherryl Broverman (Biology) 2021
Sayan Mukherjee (Statistical Science) 2021
Hayden Bosworth (Medicine / Psychology & Behavioral Sciences) 2020
Sharron Docherty (School of Nursing) 2020
Rick Hoyle (Psychology & Neuroscience) 2020

Kim Harris (Provost’s Budget Office)

Faculty Scholars Committee (2018-19)
Selects undergraduate candidates for the faculty-endowed award. Term: three years

Kathy Nightingale, Chair (Biomedical Engineering) 2019
Danny Lew (Pharmacology and Cancer Biology) 2020
Doug Boyer (Evolutionary Anthropology) 2021
Sally Deutsch (History) 2021
Jarvis McInnis (English) 2021

Faculty Committee on Elections (2018-19)
Supervises the election of members of the Academic Council. Term: two years.

Julie Edell, Chair (Fuqua School of Business) 2019
Harvey Cohen (School of Medicine) 2019
Lee Baker (Cultural Anthropology) 2020