Academic Council
Duke University

Academic Council Committees

Academic Council Executive Committee (2014-15)

Elected by the Academic Council from its membership, the Executive Committee of the Academic Council (ECAC) meets weekly during the academic year and as necessary during the summer months. ECAC meets regularly with the senior officers of the university and a few times per year with the Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees. ECAC serves as the Committee on Committees for the Academic Council and the university faculty.

Josh Socolar, Physics, Chair
Sara Beale, Law School
Claudia Gunsch, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Don Taylor, Sanford School of Public Policy
Ellen Davis, Divinity School
Kerry Haynie, Political Science and African & African-American Studies
Beth Sullivan, Molecular Genetics & Microbiology
Anne Yoder, Biology & Director of the Lemur Center

Executive Committee for 2015-16

Nan Jokerst, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Chair
Ellen Davis, Divinity School
Kerry Haynie, Political Science and African & African-American Studies
Beth Sullivan, Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
Anne Yoder, Biology and Director of the Lemur Center
Trina Jones, Law School
Emily Klein, Nicholas School of the Environment
Joshua Sosin, Classical Studies and History

Diversity Task Force (2014-15)
On behalf of the Academic Council, the Executive Committee of the Academic Council has established a faculty Task Force on Diversity charged with articulating a vision of a diverse and an inclusive Duke University for the next decade and beyond, examining our current position in relation to that vision, and recommending actions that will move us toward it. Contact the DTF at

Steering Committee

Nan Jokerst co-chair (Electrical & Computer Engineering)
Trina Jones  co-chair (Law School)
Carla Brady (Hepatology)
Gráinne Fitzsimons (Fuqua School of Business)
Kerry Haynie (Political Science and African & African-American Studies)
Emily Klein (Nicholas School of the Environment)
Viviana Martinez-Bianchi (Community & Family Medicine)
Anathea Portier-Young (Divinity School)
José-María Rodríguez-García (Romance Studies)
Don Taylor (Sanford School of Public Policy)
Kate Whetten (Sanford School of Public Policy)
Joshua Socolar, ex officio (Physics & chair of the Academic Council)

Faculty Committee on Elections (2014-15)
Supervises the election of members of the Academic Council. Term: two years.

Craig Henriquez, chair, (Biomedical Engineering & Computer Science) 2015
Amy Bejsovec (Biology) 2016
Joshua Sosin (Classical Studies & History) 2016

Faculty Compensation Committee (2014-15)
Monitors faculty compensation; studies issues relating to faculty salaries and benefits and advises the Administration in this area. Term: three years.

Helen (Sunny) Ladd (Sanford School of Public Policy) 2015
Jerry Reiter, chair, (Statistical Science) 2015
Merlise Clyde (Statistical Science) 2017
Jon Fjeld (Fuqua School of Business) 2017
Patrick Wolf (Biomedical Engineering) 2017

Kim Harris (Provost’s Budget Office)

Faculty Hearing Committee (2014-15)
Functions defined in Appendix N of the Faculty Handbook. Elected annually by the Academic Council upon nomination by the Executive Committee of the Academic Council — term: three years.

Tom Metzloff, chair, (Law School) 2017
Claudia Gunsch (Pratt School of Engineering) 2017
Lisa Griffin (Law School) 2017
Cristina Hendrix (School of Nursing) 2016
Willie Jennings (Divinity School) 2016
Trina Jones (Law School) 2016
Terrence Oas (Biochemistry) 2016
Jocelyn Olcott (History) 2016
Manju Puri (Fuqua School of Business) 2016
Steffen Bass (Physics) 2015
Philip Rosoff (Pediatrics – Oncology/Hematology) 2015
Mary (Tolly) Boatwright (Classical Studies) 2015

Faculty Scholars Committee (2014-15)
Selects undergraduate candidates for the faculty-endowed award. Term: three years

Cynthia Kuhn (Pharmacology & Cancer Biology) 2016
Chris Dwyer (Pratt School of Engineering) 2015
Jimmy Roberts, chair, (Economics) 2015
Carlos Rojas (Asian & Middle Eastern Studies) 2015
Caroline Bruzelius (Art, Art History & Visual Studies) 2017   |   Academic Council Home